Sherlock Holmes: The Short Stories: 24 Classic Story Adventures

Author(s): Sir Arthur Conan Doyle


This enthralling collection of Sherlock Holmes adventures comprises the first two volumes of short stories as they were originally gathered together in book form. Initially published in "The Strand" magazine, the first of the short stories followed the successful serialization of Conan Doyle's first two Holmes novels "A Study in Scarlet" and "The Sign of Four". "The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes" contains four of Conan Doyle's own all-time favorite Holmes mysteries, "The Adventure of the Speckled Band", "The Red-Headed League", "A Scandal in Bohemia" and "The Five Orange Pips". "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes" has another three of Conan Doyle's favorites in "The Adventure of the Reigate Squire", "The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual" and "The Adventure of the Final Problem". It is in "The Final Problem", of course, that Dr Watson sadly reports the death of Holmes at the Reichenbach Falls near Meiringen in Switzerland. Holmes' titanic struggle with his arch enemy, Professor Moriarty, had seen them both apparently plunge over a sheer drop, although Watson never actually saw Holmes' body.
This was Conan Doyle's attempt to bring an end to Holmes' adventures, but he was to be resurrected by popular demand eight years later. "The Memoirs" also includes "The Adventure of the Greek Interpreter", in which Holmes' brother, Mycroft, appears for the first time and "The Adventure of the Gloria Scott", in which Holmes describes to Watson his very first case.


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1859. He studied medicine at Edinburgh University and it was as a student that he first began writing fiction. He created his most famous character, Sherlock Holmes, while working as a doctor in Portsmouth and would go on to become a prolific author writing science fiction, historical novels, romances, plays and poetry as well as his ground-breaking detective adventures.

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes; Contains 12 stories published 1891-1892 including A Scandal in Bohemia; The Red-Headed League; A Case of Identity; The Boscombe Valley Mystery & The Five Orange Pips; The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes; Contains 12 stories published 1892-1893 including The Adventure of Silver Blaze; The Adventure of the Cardboard Box; The Adventure of the Yellow Face; The Adventure of the Stockbroker's Clerk; The Adventure of the Gloria Scott & The Adventure of the Musgrave Ritual.

General Fields

  • : 9781853758898
  • : Carlton Books Ltd
  • : Prion Books Ltd
  • : February 2013
  • : 220mm X 172mm X 46mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : line drawings throughout
  • : 656
  • : 823.912
  • : 1
  • : Paperback
  • : Sir Arthur Conan Doyle