Box 21

Author(s): Anders Roslund

Crime

The International Thriller that "Stockholm"" City" hailed as the Best Crime Novel of the Year has finally crossed the Atlantic! Three years ago, Lydia and Alena were two hopeful girls from Lithuania. Now they are sex slaves, lured to Sweden with the promise of better jobs and then trapped in a Stockholm brothel, forced to repay their "debt." Suddenly they are given an unexpected chance at freedom, and with it the opportunity to take revenge on their enslavers and reclaim the lives and dignity they once had. What will happen now that the tables are turned and the victims fight back? In this masterful thriller, the celebrated team of Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom delve into the seedy underbelly of Stockholm. There we meet Lydia and Alena as they embark on a desperate plan to expose their captor and demand justice; police officers Sundkvist and Grens, on the trail of both Lydia's enslavers and Jochum Lang, a notorious mob enforcer; and Hilding Oldeus, a junkie on what might be his last--and most destructive--bender. At the Soder Hospital, their destinies begin to converge in unexpected and explosive ways. "Box"" 21"""is a Scandinavian thriller of the highest order: a mindblowing psychological drama written with powerful intensity. When it was published in Sweden, "Solo "called it "suspenseful, gripping, and intelligently written . . . Almost impossible to put down," while "SVT "exclaimed: "Forget crime literature; this is, simply put, great literature!"

$39.99(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

From Publishers Weekly"Starred Review". The Swedish writing team of Roslund and Hellstrom make their U.S. debut with a remarkable tale of loss, addiction and revenge set in Stockholm's seedy underworld. Ewert Grens, a veteran detective, is haunted by a tragic incident that occurred 25 years earlier that left his young wife, a fellow police officer, an invalid. When the man responsible, notorious criminal Jochum Lang, is released from prison, Grens vows to put him away for life. Meanwhile, the detective arrives at a crime scene where a teenage prostitute, Lydia Grajauskas, has been nearly beaten to death by her Russian pimp. Alternating chapters fill in the backstory of Lydia and Alena Sljusareva, girls lured away from Lithuania under false pretenses and sold as sex slaves. In a bizarre twist, Lydia escapes from her hospital bed and ends up taking hostages. This taut and nuanced thriller should appeal to fans of Mo Hayder, Denise Mina and, of course, Henning Mankell. ""(Oct.)"" "What is it with Scandinavians and great crime writing? Something to do with the long nights, I guess. "Box 21", with its sharply drawn cast of jaded cops, junkies, thugs, and victims, is a gripping tale of modern-day slavery, damage, and revenge, shocking and compelling in equal measure." --Simon Lewis, author of "Bad Traffic"

Anders Roslund is the founder and former head of "Kulturnyheterna "(Culture News) on Swedish Television. Borge Hellstrom is an ex-criminal who helps to rehabilitate young offenders and drug addicts.

General Fields

  • : 9780374282950
  • : Farrar Straus Giroux
  • : Farrar Straus Giroux
  • : October 2009
  • : 237mm X 165mm X 33mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Hardback
  • : Anders Roslund
  • : 393
  • : 839.738