Author(s): Kurt Vonnegut

General Fiction

According to science-fiction writer Kilgore Trout, a global timequake will occur in New York City on 13th February 2001. It is the moment when the universe suffers a crisis of conscience. Should it expand or make a great big bang? It decides to wind the clock back a decade to 1991, making everyone in the world endure ten years of deja-vu and a total loss of free will - not to mention the torture of reliving every nanosecond of one of the tawdiest and most hollow decades. With his trademark wicked wit, Vonnegut addresses memory, suicide, the Great Depression, the loss of American eloquence, and the obsolescent thrill of reading books.


Available Stock:
On Order:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

'A wise, winning and utterly charming concoction of fiction, commentary and autobiography' Literary Review

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922 and studied biochemistry at Cornell University. During the Second World War he served in Europe and, as a prisoner of was in Germany, witnessed the destruction of Dresden by Allied bombers, an experience which inspired his classic novel Slaughterhouse-Five. He is the author of thirteen other novels, three collections of stories and five non-fiction books. Kurt Vonnegut died in 2007.

General Fields

  • : 9780099267546
  • : Penguin Random House
  • : Vintage Classics
  • : 0.176
  • : August 1998
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 15mm
  • : April 2005
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : illustrations
  • : Modern fiction; Science fiction
  • : 240
  • : 813.54
  • : English
  • : Aug-98
  • : Paperback
  • : Kurt Vonnegut